Moderator -Rev. Dr Ashley Beck 

St Mary’s University

Catholic Bishop’s Conference of England and Wales

Get in touch with us:

Management Committee 2023:

Dr Ben Ryan – appointed representative of Church of England. Responsible for overseeing the Church of England’s strategic and corporate responses across a wide portfolio of policy areas including migration, modern slavery, criminal justice, marriage and family life, gambling, alcohol and substance abuse.

Rev. Dr Matthew Ross LLB BD MTh FSASco -(non-representative). Member, International Presbytery (Church of Scotland), since 2018. Programme Executive for Diakonia and Capacity Building, World Council of Churches, Geneva, Switzerland, since 2018.

Dorothy Knights – appointed representative of the Ecumenical Forum for European Christian Women (former co-President) and Coordination for England. Local coordinator for the Anglican Mothers’ Union.

Andy Dye – appointed representative of Methodist Church of Great Britain. Global Relationships Programme Team Leader for The Methodist Church Connexional Team.

Jacob Oakes – appointed representative of Bishop’s Conference of England and Wales. Policy analyst and researcher on international affairs and migration for the Catholic Bishops’ Conference of England and Wales.

Former Officers

Grace Davie


General Secretary – Rebecca Bellamy

Coordinator – Centre of Religion, Reconciliation and Peace – University of Winchester

Executive Secretary – European Council of Religious Leaders

Sarah Dodgson – appointed representative of British Quakers (Religious Society of Friends). Former volunteer manager and commercial fundraiser Amnesty International UK 2005-2015 Community Organiser Stronger In, Britain for Europe, Grassroots for Europe 2015-2021.

Rev. Dr Keith Archer – former Anglican Vicar of Salford 1993- 2010 and Diocesan Officer for Europe 1991-2010. Author. Many years active in organising UK-Germany church exchanges/visits.

Rev. Andrew Bowden – appointed representative of the Churches European Rural Network. Author on Rural Society, Farming and the Rural Church.

Keith Jenkins – former General Secretary of the European Ecumenical Commission for Church and Society (EECCS). Associate General Secretary of CEC and Director of its Church and Society Commission 1999-2002.

Helen Hutchison – Chair of the Europe Group in St Albans Diocese. She is a writer and campaigner
with a background in press and public relations work and formerly Senior Press Officer at the Equal
Opportunities Commission.

David Thomas


John Arnold


Keith Jenkins


Philip Walters

General Secretary

Ken Medhurst

Research Director

Want to work with us?